Common Delayed Injuries Following a Car Accident
Car accidents are common and can happen to anyone, including you. A car accident can exert extreme physical force and movement on a person’s body. Depending on whether the person is a driver or passenger, whether they are wearing a seatbelt, and how they are positioned at impact can determine the severity of their injuries.
Some car accidents can be fatal or cause severe injuries that are felt immediately, such as cuts, burns, bruises, and broken bones. Other times, car accidents can cause injuries that are not felt until hours, days, weeks or months later. In certain situations, even years later.
It is common for people not to immediately realize the extent of their injuries after a car accident. These types of injuries are referred to as delayed injuries or injuries with delayed symptoms.
Some Common Examples Are as Follows:
- Sprain and strain of the neck, mid-back, or low-back
- Spine injuries, such as herniation or protrusion of disc(s)
- Head and brain injuries, such as concussion and brain contusion
- Emotional and mental injuries, such as post-traumatic stress disorder and anxiety
- Headaches stemming from spine injuries
Most people after a car accident say they are fine and decline medical attention at the scene of the accident. This is because people who are involved in a car accident are often in shock and experience a sudden surge of adrenaline. This hormone increases a person’s pain tolerance and can make them believe that they are not injured. This rush can continue for few hours or even into the following day.
If you are involved in a car accident, it is critical that you seek medical attention right away. Do not self-diagnose or assume you have not been injured. While you may not have suffered any visible physical injuries, you could have and likely did suffer injuries that will become apparent in the days or weeks following the accident. If that is the case, seek medical attention as soon as you experience those symptoms. Do not worry about not being able to present a personal injury claim if you’ve had delayed injuries.
How Long Do I Have To File a Lawsuit After My Accident?
In California, the statute of limitations for filing a personal injury lawsuit is two years from the date of injury. (California Code of Civil Procedure § 335.1) A statute of limitation is the deadline for filing a lawsuit. The lawsuit must be filed within the prescribed time, or you lose your right to pursue a claim. This two-year deadline, however, can be altered depending on various circumstances.
For example, if you are suing a government entity, you are required to present a special claim putting the government agency on notice within six months of the date of injury. (California Government Code §§ 905 and 911.2) Then, the government agency has 45 days to respond to the claim. If the government agency denies your claim, then you have 6 months from that date to file a lawsuit. If you do not get a rejection letter, you may have more time.
Contact JT Legal Group Today
If you were involved in a car accident, it is critical that you seek advice of counsel right away to ensure your legal rights are protected.
Contact our firm today at (888) 529-3111 for further legal assistance.